Art Imitating Life?

King and crown 2I recently published my latest Zombie Chronicle, “Return of A King: A Zombie Chronicle” on Kindle. I didn’t know how close I was to the truth in my story. A recent Daily Mail article describes the mass graves discovered at Ham Hill Iron Age Fort in Somerset. They even date them to the 1st or 2nd Century, same period as the early stages of my story. These bodies, too, were hacked up and many de-fleshed in some sort of ritual.

According to Dr Brittain, the mutilation of the bodies suggests that they were ‘trying to separate pieces of the body’. For what purpose, you ask? Perhaps they died under strange circumstances; maybe they weren’t seen as part of society. What don’t we see as social creatures – at least not around breathers? You guessed it, they were probably zombies.

Bones In Somerset, Copyright Marcus Brittain
Bones In Somerset, Copyright Marcus Brittain

So who killed them? Romans? Other Britons? A secret Order? Whoever was responsible, they clearly wanted to make sure these people didn’t come back to life. Let’s just hope they haven’t unearthed zombie spores like they did in Leicester. Be careful Dr Brittain, don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2412038/Iron-Age-excavation-site-gives-gruesome-glimpse-past-bodies-slaughtered-chopped-chilling-massacre.html

8 Comments

    1. Hi Colin
      Thanks for that, actually the dig in Leicester that discovered the remains of Richard III inspired my book. I do find that for a few of my books (especially the scifi ones) now that I think of something and suddenly I see something very closely related appearing in the press. I am trying to work out what I want, I will write about it and maybe, just maybe…
      I see you are a Marine Biologist. We have something in common, although I went into IT after my degree. Where did you do yours? I was at UCNW Bangor.
      Regards
      David

      1. Hi David,

        Yep, it’s amazing how things sometimes come together. I guess it’s a question of whether you catch the zeitgeist or whether the zeitgeist catches you. Very hard to work out the difference.

        In terms of training, I did an undergrad in zoology at Glasgow (with a year spent doing archaeology on the side), then a few years working in the Bahamas (hence the setting for my first book) followed by a Ph.D. and various follow-ups in Aberdeen (still not quite too sure why I made than particular move!). I taught as a guest lecturer at Bangor for a couple of years in the mid-2000s on one of the M.Sc. courses, and I have to say I liked it more than Aberdeen. A good bunch of people down there.

        Anyway, we might all take different routes but still end up dealing with zombies in the end!

        All the best,

        Colin

      2. You’re right of course, I think the zeitgeist bit me on the arse! I see you did a bit of archaeology. That is something I have taken a bit of an interest in recently, not just because of the risks of zombies, but because a large number of significant discoveries have been made that have been able to make sense of stuff we learned as kids.
        You are lucky re Bangor, at least now it’s like a real town, when I was there the best thing about it was the Kwiksave and the 33 pubs!
        Kind regards
        David

      3. The Amesbury Archer was certainly ann interesting (reasonably recent) discovery. I think a lot of it is not just the discoveries, but the technologies that can now be applied to findings.

        Anyway, Bangor’s certainly better now (or at least last time I was there which was in 2006), although admittedly not much!

        All the best,

        Colin

      4. Interesting, That’s one I remember. It’s interesting to watch the speculation these finds create. Of course, although its educated, it’s still a guess. I think the art of ancient studies was quite succinctly summed up in Jurassic Park when they discovered that dinosaurs were homeothermic not poikilothermic (fairly likely considering their size. How long would a T Rex have to bask on a rock to warm its interior?)

        I used to go to a pub in Port Dinorwic (sorry, Y Felinheli) that had a sign that read ‘better to be in a pub thinking of church, than in a church thinking of the pub’. Summed up the area really. I was part of the vote to bring opening of pubs on Sundays to the area – my claim to fame although I do share it with a few thousand others.

        Regards
        David

      5. Yeah, I think that was the main reasons I went into science over archaeology; it was too speculative for me (with the whole four post hole problem and all). Still maintain an interest an it though.

        In respect to the other point, there’s an interesting test in The Bahamas as to whether a community has more churches than pubs. Personally, I always liked the ones better that had more pubs than churches. In that respect, raise a glass to your win!

Leave a Reply

