English For Foreigners

I recently had a review that included the reader’s difficulty at understanding some of the English expressions I used in one of my books. I am lucky; because of my background I am well-travelled and have heard most uses and abuses of the English language that are possible. I’m certain I will continue to hear more as I walk through life, some of which will amuse and some not so.

A lot of people think that French or Italian are the languages of love but think about English for a moment – we have many world-renowned poets that waxed lyrical on love down the ages; after all Shakespeare wrote some of the best-known sonnets in the world – when men woo women in films, they don’t quote Descartes or Voltaire, they quote Shakespeare or Wordsworth, both notable lovers themselves. So why aren’t they (and us Australians) known as lovers? I think that it is because no-one but the Brits (and I include the Aussies in this category as our sense of humour is not far off the same mark) truly understand our courtesy or sense of humour and see it as too dry for hot lovers. They don’t see it for what it is; a shield against disappointment.construction-worker-bowing-helmet-hand-22733291

The URL to the article that sparked this train of thought is given below. Perhaps it might go some way to explain English and why those that speak it as a first language (and in this particular instance I can’t include many of our cousins across the Pond, although many of those north of the 48th Parallel might well read it and think ‘I know that already’) are more of an enigma and potentially red-hot lovers than were first thought.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics/howaboutthat/10280244/Translation-table-explaining-the-truth-behind-British-politeness-becomes-internet-hit.html

Leave a Reply

